Pluto has been demoted from the status of a planet after similar planets were discovered in its vicinity. Now it is a dwarf planet. But it still behaves like a planet. Though its smaller than our Moon, it has 5 moons circling around it.

Pluto was discovered in 1930. But its largest moon Charon was not discovered until 1978. That is because at such a great distance, the two tiny objects appeared blurred together to the telescopes of earlier days. Pluto and Charon are considered a "double planet", because Charon is half the size of Pluto.

Here goes a list of all five moons of Pluto.


Discovered: 1978

Diameter: 648 miles


Time of discovery: 2005

Diameter: 20-70 miles


Time of discovery: 2005

Diameter: 20-70 miles


Time of discovery: June 28, 2011

Diameter: 8-21 miles


Time of discovery: July 7, 2012

Diameter: 6-15 miles

Orbit around Pluto: 58,000 miles



"Hubble Discovers a Fifth Moon Orbiting Pluto", 7 Jul 2012,

"Another Moon For Pluto", 28 June 2011,

0 Newsletter

Login to comment